VFIC logo

"Securing Brighter Futures"
Since 1952






2014 Championship Team
Hollins University

Hollins University - 2014 Ethics Bowl Champions

Hollins University Team and faculty coordinator Dr. James P. Downey, associate professor of philosophy.

2014 Ethics Bowl Batten Trophy

VFIC trustees Roger Mudd and Tom Goode and Lynchburg College President Ken Garren present the plaque and Batten Trophy to the Hollins team.


2014 Runner-Up Team
Virginia Wesleyan College



Distinguished professionals serving as judges and moderators, faculty members, and students from across Virginia support the VFIC’s annual Ethics Bowl testifying to the priority that each of these individuals places on personal ethics in the workplace, classroom, and all aspects of their lives.

The Ethics Bowl program was conceptualized in 1997 by the VFIC Ethics Task Force, co-chaired by Roger Mudd, History Channel - Journalist (retired) and VFIC trustee, and Phillip Stone, President of Bridgewater College (1994-2010). The mission of the task force was to explore opportunities to involve students at the 15 VFIC colleges in the lively debate and consideration of applied ethics—real world dilemmas that affect peoples lives in increasingly complex ways.

While each VFIC institution had woven ethics into the curriculum and culture of their campuses, the intent was to strengthen the focus already in place.

Contact: Mary-Beth Johnson




Wells Fargo
Ethics Bowl
Signature Sponsor
since 2002

Wells Fargo logo




History of the Ethics Bowl

Ethics Bowl CampusCoordinators

VFIC Programs:

Support the VFIC