VFIC logo

"Securing Brighter Futures"
Since 1952





H. Hiter Harris, Jr. Memorial Award for
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Kelly Lambert, Ph.D, Randolph-Macon College

Recipient of the 2013 Harris Award, Dr. Kelly G. Lambert (right)
with Randolph-Macon President Robert Lindgren.

About this Award:

The H. Hiter Harris, Jr. Award, which includes a stipend to support the recipient’s scholarly research or professional development activities, was created at the VFIC in 2008 through an endowment gift from the family of the late Hiter Harris, Jr., a leading Virginia banker who was a member of the VFIC’s Board from 1973 - 1998.  His son H. Hiter Harris III is a current board member having joined the board in 2000.


Harris Award Recipients

Dr. Kelly G. Lambert (2013)
Professor of Psychology, Randolph-Macon College

Dr. Michael Lane (2012)
Professor of Chemistry, Emory & Henry College

Dr. Alexander J. Werth (2011)
Professor of Biology, Hampden-Sydney College

Dr. KimMarie McGoldrick (2010)
Professor of Economics, University of Richmond

Dr. Lawrence D. Hultgren(2009)
Professor of Philosophy, Virginia Wesleyan College

Dr. Arthur H. Goldsmith (2008)
Professor of Economics, Washington and Lee University


"Tell me and I forget. Show me and I remember. Involve me and
I understand."
- Chinese proverb

Chad Morris, Ph.D, Roanoke College

Harris "Rising Star" recipient
Dr. Chad Morris (right)
with Mike Maxey
President of Roanoke College.

VFIC Programs:


Photo by Jason Jones