VFIC Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges includes business and community leaders throughout Virginia as well as the Presidents of our 16 member colleges and universities.



VFIC Chairman

Nancy Howell Agee, President and CEO, Carilion Clinic


A. Marshall Acuff, Jr., Managing Director, Silvercrest Asset Mgmt. Group
George F. Albright, Jr., Mnging Dir. & VA Business Head, JPMorgan Private Bank
John C. Asbury, President & CEO, Atlantic Union Bank
Frank Batten, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Landmark Media Enterprises, LLC
George Y. Birdsong, CEO, Birdsong Corporation
Victor K. Branch, Richmond Market President, Bank of America Corporation
Charles L. Cabell, Esq., Partner (Retired), Williams Mullen
John M. Camp III, Managing Director of Bus. Dev., Arbor Investments
Victor O. Cardwell, Esq., Principal, Woods Rogers LLC
Theodore L. Chandler, Jr., Managing Director, NRV
C. Lynch Christian III, President, 1000 Church Street, Inc.
John R. Clark III, President (Retired), Steuart Investment Company
Peter A. Converse, Bank Director, United Bankshares, Inc.
Richard Cullen, Esq., Civic Leader, Richmond, VA
John McNamara Curtis, Sr., Chairman, Cubic Corporation
Beverley E. Dalton, Chair of the Board, English Construction Co.
Russ Ellet, President, Excel Truck Group
Lauren Fisher White, Partner, Christian & Barton, LLP
Calvin W. Fowler, Jr., President and CEO, Williams Mullen
George C. Freeman III, Chairman, President and CEO, Universal Corporation
Palmer P. Garson, Managing Director, Silvercrest Asset Mgmt. Group
Thomas E. Goode, Regional Private Bank Manager (Ret.), Wells Fargo Private Bank
Brad N. Hall, Vice President of External Affairs, AEP/Appalachian Power Co.
H. Hiter Harris III, Managing Director, Harris Williams & Co.
Paul T. Hengst, Principal, PTH Ventures, LLC
George C. Howell III, Chairman, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
Martin Kent, President and CEO, The United Company
C. Burke King, Civic Leader, Henrico, VA
Esther C. Lee, President and CEO, Refraction
Charles S. Luck IV, President and CEO, Luck Companies
Craig L. Massey, Vice Chairman, Evan Energy Investments, LLC
W. Sheppard Miller III, Managing Partner, Light Tech, Inc.
T. Justin Moore III, Civic Leader, Richmond, VA
Thurston R. Moore, Esq., Chairman Emeritus, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
Spencer W. Morten III, Chairman (Ret.), Bassett Mirror Company, Inc.
William L. Murray, Senior Vice President-Corporate Affairs & Communications, Dominion Energy Services
Mark G. Mykityshyn, Ph.D., CEO, Endeavor Technology Group
Bernard A. Niemeier, President & Publisher, Virginia Business
Daniel J. O’Neill, President & CEO, Mid-Atlantic (Ret.), Truist Bank
William L. Pannill, Chairman, Tacoma Management, Inc.
L. Allan Parrott, Jr., Vice Chairman, Tidewater Fleet Supply
Charlotte Porterfield, Civic Leader, Roanoke, VA
Brian W. Quigley, Chief Operating Officer, Respira Technologies, Inc.
Thomas L. Ransom, Executive VP/VA Region President, Truist Bank
Carter V. Reid, Vice President, Customer Operations Optima Health / Sentara Healthcare,
H. McGuire Riley, President, BAHR Associates, Inc.
Stewart D. Roberson, Ed.D., Chairman, President and CEO, Moseley Architects
Thomas D. Rutherfoord, Jr., Civic Leader, Alexandria, VA
Mary G. Shockey, Civic Leader, Millwood, VA
Gary R. Shook, President and CEO, Community Bankers’ Bank
J. Knox Singleton, Civic Leader, Winchester, VA
Brian K. Skinner, Sr. Exec VP/Chief Banking Officer, TowneBank
Robert H. Spilman, Jr., President and CEO, Bassett Furniture Industries, Inc.
Hugh E. Taylor, Civic Leader, Falls Church, VA
Benita Thompson-Byas, Senior VP/Vice Chair of the Board, Thompson Hospitality
Gary R. Thomson, Managing Partner, Thomson Consulting, LLC
William R. Van Buren III, Esq., Chairman, Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
Keith D. VanderVennet, Senior Vice President, Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.
Mary Allen Waller, Global Director of Community Engagement, Markel Corporation
Margaret G. Warner, Senior Correspondent (Retired), The PBS NewsHour
James C. Wheat III, President, Blandfield Associates, LLC
John H. Wick IV, Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Private Bank
Michael Witynski, President and CEO, Dollar Tree Stores
R. Sackett Wood, President & CEO, Moore & Giles


VFIC COLLEGE PRESIDENTS College/University Presidents are members of the VFIC Board of Trustees

Irma Becerra, President, Marymount University, Arlington, VA
David W. Bushman, President, Bridgewater College, Bridgewater, VA
William C. Dudley, President, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, VA
Tracy Fitzsimmons, President, Shenandoah University, Winchester, VA
Pamela Fox, President, Mary Baldwin University, Staunton, VA
Kevin F. Hallock, President, University of Richmond, Richmond, VA
Mary Dana Hinton, President, Hollins University, Roanoke, VA
Robert R. Lindgren, President, Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, VA
Hakim J. Lucas
, President, Virginia Union University, Richmond, VA
Scott D. Miller, President, Virginia Wesleyan University, Virginia Beach, VA
Alison Morrison-Shetlar, President, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, VA
Sue Ott Rowlands, President, Randolph College, Lynchburg, VA
Frank Shushok, President, Roanoke College, Salem, VA
John Lawrence Stimpert, President, Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, VA
John W. Wells, President, Emory & Henry College, Emory, VA
Meredith Woo, President, Sweet Briar College, Sweet Briar, VA


Board of Trustees Documents >