Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges

VFIC Board of Trustees
The Board of Trustees of the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges includes business and community leaders throughout Virginia as well as the Presidents of our 15 member colleges and universities.


A. Marshall Acuff, Jr., Managing Director, Silvercrest Asset Management Group
Nancy H. Agee, President and CEO, Carilion Clinic
George F. Albright, Jr., Managing Dir. & Virginia Business Head, JPMorgan Private Bank
David A. Arias, Owner, Pull Start Fire
John C. Asbury, President & CEO, Union Bank &: Trust
Frank Batten, Jr., President and CEO, Landmark Media Enterprises, LLC
W. Earle Betts III, CEO, Montague-Betts Company
J. Edward Betts, Esq., Counsel, Christian & Barton, LLP
George Y. Birdsong, CEO, Birdsong Corporation
Victor K. Branch, Richmond Market President, Bank of America Corporation
Charles L. Cabell, Esq., Partner, Williams Mullen
John M. Camp III, Managing Director of Business Development, Arbor Investments
Theodore L. Chandler, Jr., Managing Director, NRV
C. Lynch Christian III, President, 1000 Church Street, Inc.
John R. Clark III, President, Steuart Investment Company
Richard Cullen, Esq., Partner and Chairman, McGuireWoods, LLP
Beverley E. Dalton, Chair of the Board, English Construction Co.
Thomas F. Farrell II, Chairman, President & CEO, Dominion Energy
Calvin W. Fowler, Jr., President and CEO, Williams Mullen
George C. Freeman III, Chairman, President & CEO, Universal Corporation
Palmer P. Garson, Managing Director, Silvercrest Asset Management Group
Marie M. Godsey, Founder/CEO, Meriwether Godsey Inc.
Thomas E. Goode, Regional Private Bank Manager & Sr. VP, Wells Fargo Private Bank
Brad N. Hall, Vice President of External Affairs, AEP/Appalachian Power Company
H. Hiter Harris III, Managing Director, Harris Williams & Co.
Anne Barnett Hazel, Civic Leader, Broad Run, Virginia
Paul T. Hengst, Principal, PTH Ventures, LLC
George C. Howell III, Chairman, Hunton Andrews Kurth, LLP
C. Burke King, Civic Leader, Richmond, VA
Charles S. Luck IV, President and CEO, Luck Companies
John A. Luke, Jr., Chairman, WestRock Company
Thomas J. Lyons, Jr., Chairman, COASTAL Hospitality Associates, LLC
Craig L. Massey, Vice Chairman, Evan Energy Investments LC
W. Sheppard Miller, III, President & CEO, Trident Utility Contracting
T. Justin Moore III, Civic Leader, Richmond, VA
Thurston R. Moore, Esq., Chairman Emeritus, Hunton Andrews Kurth, LLP
Spencer W. Morten III, Chairman and CEO, Bassett Mirror Company, Inc.
Mark G. Mykityshyn, Ph.D., Executive Chairman, Tangible Security
Dan J. O'Neill, President & CEO, Mid-Atlantic Division SunTrust Bank
William L. Pannill, Chairman, Tacoma Management, Inc.
L. Allan Parrott, Jr., President, Tidewater Fleet Supply
Brian W. Quigley, Civic Leader, Richmond, VA
Stewart D. Roberson, Ed.D, Chairman, President and CEO, Moseley Architects
Thomas Rutherfoord, Jr., Civic Leader, Alexandria, VA
Bob Sasser, Executive Chairman, Dollar Tree, Inc.
Mary G. Shockey, Civic Leader, Millwood, VA
Gary R. Shook, President, Blue Ridge Bank
John Knox Singleton, Civic Leader, Winchester, VA
Robert H. Spilman, Jr., President and CEO, Bassett Furniture Industries, Inc.
James A. Squires, President and CEO, Norfolk Southern Corporation
John G. Stallings, Senior Executive Vice President, Union Bank & Trust
Hugh E. Taylor, Retired, Northrop Grumman Corporation
Rony Thomas, MS, MBA, President & CEO, LifeNet Health
Fred D. Thompson, Jr., Chief Administrative Officer, Thompson Hospitality (Retired)
Gary R. Thomson, CPA, Regional Managing Partner, DHG, LLP
William R. Van Buren III, Esq., Chairman, Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.
Keith D. VanderVennet, Senior Vice President, Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.
Margaret G. Warner, Senior Correspondent, The PBS NewsHour
James C. Wheat III, President, Blandfield Associates, LLC
Richard R. Whitt III, President and Co-COO, Markel Corporation
R. Sackett Wood, President and CEO, Moore & Giles

College/University Presidents are members of the VFIC Board of Trustees

Bradley W. Bateman, President, Randolph College, Lynchburg, VA
Irma Becerra, President, Marymount University, Arlington, VA
David W. Bushman, President, Bridgewater College, Bridgewater, VA
Ronald A. Crutcher, President, University of Richmond, Richmond, VA
William C. Dudley, President, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, VA
Tracy Fitzsimmons, President, Shenandoah University, Winchester, VA
Pamela Fox, President, Mary Baldwin University, Staunton, VA
Kenneth R. Garren, President, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, VA
Pareena Lawrence, President, Hollins University, Roanoke, VA
Robert R. Lindgren, President, Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, VA
Michael C. Maxey, President, Roanoke College, Salem, VA
Scott D. Miller, President, Virginia Wesleyan University, Norfolk, VA
Jake B. Schrum, President, Emory & Henry College, Emory, VA
John Lawrence Stimpert, President, Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden-Sydney, VA
Meredith Woo, President, Sweet Briar College, Sweet Briar, VA

Board of Trustees Documents