VFIC Ethics Program

Distinguished professionals serving as judges and moderators, faculty members, and students from across Virginia support the VFIC’s annual Ethics Bowl testifying to the priority that each of these individuals places on personal ethics in the workplace, classroom, and all aspects of their lives.

The Ethics Bowl program was conceptualized in 1997 by the VFIC Ethics Task Force, co-chaired by Roger Mudd, former History Channel – Journalist and VFIC trustee, and Phillip Stone, President of Bridgewater College (1994-2010). The mission of the task force was to explore opportunities to involve students at the VFIC colleges and universities in the lively debate and consideration of applied ethics—real world dilemmas that affect people’s lives in increasingly complex ways.

While each VFIC institution had woven ethics into the curriculum and culture of their campuses, the intent was to strengthen the focus already in place.

2023 VFIC Ethics Bowl

The 2023 VFIC Ethics Bowl is scheduled for January 29-30, 2023 on the campus of Virginia Wesleyan University.

This year’s Ethics Bowl topic will be “Ethics and Digital Media.”

It is customary to host a fundraising dinner on the first day of the event.  The 2023 Ethics Bowl Dinner will honor George Y. Birdsong and is set for January 29 at Virginia Wesleyan University.  To register your sponsorship or purchase tickets to the dinner.

If you have any questions about these events, please contact Dawn Greggs at greggs@vfic.org.


2022 Winning Team

University of Richmond



2022 Runner-Up Team

Randolph-Macon College





Historical List of Winners

2022 University of Richmond
2021 Event Postponed Due to Covid-19
2020 Virginia Wesleyan University
2019 Washington and Lee University
2018 Hampden-Sydney College
2017 Hampden-Sydney College
2016 Hampden-Sydney College
2015 Washington and Lee University
2014 Hollins University
2013 Hampden-Sydney College
2012 Hampden-Sydney College
2011 Sweet Briar College
2010 Randolph-Macon College
2009 Washington and Lee University
2008 Mary Baldwin University
2007 University of Richmond
2006 Randolph-Macon College
2005 Washington and Lee University
2004 Washington and Lee University
2003 Bridgewater College
2002 Co-Champions: Marymount University and Washington and Lee University
2001 Washington and Lee University
2000 Virginia Wesleyan University