Harris Faculty Awards

The Harris awards were generously created through endowments by the Harris family. The Harris family endowed these awards to highlight the special features of VFIC colleges and universities by recognizing faculty members “whose professional history reflects a strong, clear and abiding commitment to excellence in classroom teaching within the undergraduate liberal arts and sciences.”

Congratulations to the 2022 Harris Family Faculty Award Winners.

Libby and Hiter Harris
Excellence in
Undergraduate Teaching Award

Michael Wolyniak, Ph.D.
McGavacks Professor of Biology
Hampden-Sydney College

H. Hiter Harris III
Rising Star Award

Mary Jane Carmichael, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies
Hollins University

H. Hiter Harris III
Excellence in
Instructional Technology Award

Eric Bubar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering
Marymount University

VFIC Annual Awards Meeting Sponsors

The VFIC would like to extend its gratitude to the following sponsors for helping to make the awards meeting possible.

(Nomination information for the 2023 program is now available below.)